VDay

When I was in seventh grade, the boy I was having a crush on showed up one day, all huffing and puffing, and was just bursting to tell me, like I was his best friend,

“You won’t believe this! XXXXX has invited me to her party on Valentine’s Day! Isn’t that great?”

Apparently he was having a crush on someone else. A girl twice his size.

The happiness in his eyes was so sincere and genuine that like a good person, I lied to him about how thrilled I was for him. And went on to cry in the girl’s bathroom. Where in the middle of one of the best “feeling sorry for myself” moments, I also happened to hear one of our teachers pee, but the damaging effects of that are another story.

I came home and discovered cookies drizzled with chocolate that had not been there that morning. A neighbor had come by when I wasn’t looking.

Sometimes Valentine’s days turn out devastating, relatively. But sometimes the best moments come from where we least expect them. It’s like watching a soup boil. So give it some space – look the other way. And chocolate frosting always helps.

About annahuddleston

Business and travel writer based in Las Vegas. www.shakeyourshoes.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to VDay

  1. Monet says:

    Smile! Love this post. As always, you capture these moments so well. I love these little glimpses…and it reminded me of my own childhood (I had quite a few bathroom cries!) Thanks for sharing, sweet thing. And thank you for linking to my chocolate frosting 🙂 Many blessings to you as the week unfolds.

  2. Eva says:

    Oh, what memories, even all these years later my 4th grade heartbreaks I recall so well. Thank you for sharing!
    Eva

Leave a Reply

