Day Five. No Sugar

Borja and I are at the Anthropologie store, my favorite. It’s 42C (something around 90F) outside and I’m checking out the sweaters because I’m cold as usual. The sugar thing is not helping either. I go round and round, touching and feeling and saying, “This is not fleece enough – do you have the same thing fleecier?” Borja hasn’t had any breakfast and lunch for that matter and is getting ready to strike me on my head. One more round and he’d pick up a metal pipe that is part of industrial-slash-rustic bed design.

“When are we going to go eat?” he whines.

“When we do, what do you want?” I say.

“A hamburger,” he said. “What are you going to have?”

“A hamburger too,” I say.

“You know you can’t.”

“Sure I can. I’ll just ask them to wrap it up in lettuce.”

“But what if there is sugar in the meat?”

Catching my piercing gaze, he makes a 45-degree pivot for a shelf with the overpriced flowery plates and cups.

“I’ll think I’ll take a couple of these,” he says, picking out two white mugs that he identifies as “belonging to aging English nobility.”

“Do you have any of that Victoria’s Secret wrapping paper left?” he wants to know. “I think they’ll be great for my girlfriends.”

About annahuddleston

Business and travel writer based in Las Vegas. www.shakeyourshoes.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day Five. No Sugar

  1. Off sugar and bread? Very interesting! Thx for stopping by my site.

  2. breadnbutter69 says:

    That’s the plan… not sure how well it’s going to work but i’m hoping to keep it up for at least a couple of weeks so that later I can back to eating a couple of m and m’s instead of a whole bag… thanks for stopping by! really like your site, btw. added it to my blogroll.
    A

  3. Batonchik says:

    Anich, to keep warm – try eating borsch or just the red beets out of it. TONZ OF IRON! keeps one’s hemoglobin high and keeps you warm. or else you might try chewing on a metal tip of a crocheting hook – iron, too!

    by the way, have you crocheted lately?

    • breadnbutter69 says:

      Yes – not only do i like to suck on the hook for iron-izing perpuses but also like to use it to itch my ears… B. says gross… 🙂
      Haven’t crocheted in months.. sad.. and you’ve moved on to needles, leaving me all by myself with the hook…

      • Batonchik says:

        na-hah! i haven’t abandoned you at all! =)

        learning to knit, though. an uneasy sub to crocheting – you have to THINK ABOUT WHAT BOTH OF YOUR HANDS ARE DOING, instead of just one.

        ugh!

  4. Monet says:

    You are impressive! I don’t know if I could do it! And I love anthropologie too! I’ve thought about working their during grad school, but I would probably end up spending my entire paycheck on clothes. You are such an entertaining writer. This post made me smile, and I’m eager to hear more about how your no-sugar adventure goes!

  5. Batonchik says:

    i want MORE, plz write!

Leave a Reply

